Candidates set for August primary election


Filing for the Aug. 6 county and state primary election has ended, and there is at least one contested race in each area county.

In Miller County there are contested races for both first and second district commissioner.

In Morgan County there will be contested races for Sheriff, Western District Commissioner and coroner.

In Cole County, there will be one contested race - for assessor.

Below is a listing of candidates who will be on the August ballot.

Miller County

First District Commissioner – Don Abbett (incumbent) from Tuscumbia and Darrell Bunch from Eldon.

Second District Commissioner – Gaylord McDaniel from Brumley, Travis Rowden from Iberia and Doug Zeigenbein from Ulman.

Assessor – Joseph M. Cochran from Iberia.

Public Administrator – Theresa Lupardus from Tuscumbia.

Sheriff – Louie Gregoire from Tuscumbia.

Surveyor – Ricky Lynn Wilson from Iberia.

Coroner – Caleb D. Shelton from Tuscumbia.

All candidates have filed as Republicans.

Morgan County

Sheriff – Norman Dills from Versailles, William Demarsico from Versailles and David Lobaugh from Gravois Mills.

Eastern District Commissioner – Brian Lehman from Versailles.

Western District Commissioner – Kevin W. Barker from Stover, Trent Edgar from Versailles, Harold Randall from Stover and Jason Worthley from Stover.

Assessor – Colleen Richardson-Richey from Versailles.

Public Administrator – Amanda Huffman from Versailles.

Coroner – James Towles from Versailles and Cody Worthley from Stover.

All candidates have filed as Republicans.

Cole County

Associate Circuit Judge – Emily Fretwell.

Eastern District Commissioner – Jeff Hoelscher.

Western District Commissioner – Harry Otto.

Sheriff – John P. Wheeler.

Assessor – Tim Theroff and Christopher “Chris” Estes.

Treasurer – Eric Peters.

Public Administrator – Ralph Jobe.

All candidates have filed as Republicans.

State & federal offices

U.S. Senator – Republican Josh Hawley from St. Louis, Democrats Karla May from St. Louis, December L. Harmon from Columbia, Lucas Kunce from Independence and Mita Biswas from St. Louis; and Libertarian W.C. Young from Kansas City.

U.S. Congressman - Third District – Republicans Arnie C. Dienoff from O’Fallon, Chad Bicknell from Arnold, Kyle Bone from DeSoto, Brandon Wilkinson from Fenton, Bob Onder from O’Fallon, Kurt Schaefer from Columbia, Justin Hicks from Wentzville and Bruce A. Bowman from Jefferson City; Democrats Bethany E. Mann from Wentzville and Andrew Daly from Fulton; and Libertarian Jordan Rowden from Vienna.

State Representative - 58th District – Republican incumbent Willard Haley from Eldon.

State Representative - 59th district – Republican incumbent Rudy Veit from Wardsville.

State Representative - 61st district – Republicans Paul Gerard Stratman from Freeburg, Brian L. Tharp from Owensville and Bruce Sassman (incumbent) from Bland.

State Representative - 124th district – Republican incumbent Don Mayhew from Crocker and Democrat Tara Hallmark from Dixon.